Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

2024 Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature is now accepting entries

By John Patrick Magno Ranara Published Apr 01, 2024 7:11 pm

Calling all poets and literary artists!

If you've got a story that'll shake the world of literature, then you'd be pleased to know the longest-running and most prestigious literary contest in the country is now accepting entries for its 2024 edition. 

"The 72nd Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature is now accepting entries for the year 2024. Last day of submission is on May 31, 2024," CPMA announced on its official Facebook page.

According to the rules and regulations, the contest is open to all Filipino citizens or former Filipino citizens of all ages, except for current directors, officers, and employees under the Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc.

You can submit entries to the following categories and divisions:

  • English Division - Short Story, Short Story for Children, Essay, Poetry, Poetry Written for Children, One-act Play, Full-length Play, and novel;
  • Filipino Division - Maikling Kuwento, Maikling Kuwentong Pambata, Sanaysay, Tula, Tulang Para sa mga Bata, Dulang May Isang Yugto, Dulang Ganap ang Haba, Nobela, and Dulang Pampelikula;
  • Regional Languages Division - Short Story-Cebuano, Short Story-Hiligaynon, and Short Story-Ilokano;
  • Kabataan Division- Kabataan Essay and Kabataan Sanaysay

Keep in mind that only one work will be accepted per category and that a translation of an entry submitted in one division shall not be eligible in any other division. Official entry forms for submissions in the Philippines must also be notarized.

Works that were first published or first produced between June 1, 2023 to May 31, 2024, as well as unpublished or unproduced works may be entered in the contest. For novels, published works from June 1, 2022 are eligible.

CPMA will only accept submissions online through their website. The highest prize that participants can win amounts to P50,000 for entries submitted in the Novel or Nobela category.

Apart from the regular prizes, those who have won a first prize at least five times in the regular categories will receive the Hall of Fame award. The five first prizes may be from different divisions or categories. 

The Kabataan Award of Distinction is meanwhile bestowed to Palanca awardees who have won four first prizes in the Kabataan Essay or Kabataan Sanaysay categories, regardless of division.