Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

LISTEN: Emerging artists cover Eraserheads hits following triumphant reunion concert

By NICK GARCIA Published Jan 02, 2023 2:27 pm

Emerging Filipino artists paid tribute to the Eraserheads with renditions of their hits following their much-awaited and triumphant reunion concert.

Pop soloist Ace Banzuelo, known for his soft and brooding vocals, reimagined the tragic ballad Ang Huling El Bimbo with a fresh and dreamy take.

“It’s great that I’m allowed to give it the sound and approach that I want," Banzuelo said in a statement. "A lot of the original was kept, but a lot was taken away. This project became meaningful to me throughout the process because I was producing it as if I had written the song."

Alternative rock band of Mercury, Sof Abrogar from Any Name's Okay, and hip-hopper Alex Bruce meanwhile reinterpreted Superproxy with a fusion of retro and futuristic sound. The Eraserheads originally performed the song with the late Pinoy rap legend Francis M.

"It was honestly an honor for us to be able to cover an Eheads song and be able to incorporate our own flavor into it,” the ensemble said in a statement, adding that it's a "pretty tricky song" to work on yet it made them "pretty happy" with the results.

Bruce also said that she added "a little spice, a little flavor, and a bit of contemporary oomph" to the rap part.

Prior to the budding OPM artists' Eraserheads covers, P-Pop sensation SB19 released its version of Christmas Party last Dec. 23. The Pinoy Fab Four performed the song with Gary V during the Huling El Bimbo concert the night before.

SB19—comprising Ken, Justin, Stell, Pablo, and Josh—said their cover, which mixes dance pop, hip-hop, and modern funk, honors the Eraserheads' timeless influence.

Alongside SB19, rock band NOBITA also covered Magasin and gave it a laidback, jazzy treatment.

All of the revamped tracks were released under Sony Music Entertainment, and are available on all platforms.

Sony Music Entertainment also re-released the Eraseheads' studio albums Ultraelectromagneticpop!: The 25th Anniversary Remastered Edition, Circus (25th Anniversary Remastered), Cutterpillow, Fruitcake, and Sticker Happy in full 360-degree spatial sound.

Consisting of Ely Buendia, Raimund Marasigan, Buddy Zabala, and Marcus Adoro, the Eraserheads are considered one of the country's greatest bands of all time, having influenced succeeding generations of Pinoy musicians.