Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper Shop Hello! Create with us

44th Natatanging Gawad Urian recipient, other nominees revealed

By Brooke Villanueva Published Sep 21, 2021 11:19 am

The Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) has announced the recipient of this year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian alongside other nominees for the 44th Gawad Urian Awards to be held this year.

Vying for Pinakamahusay na Dokyumentaryo are Alyx Arumpac (Aswang), Roel Hoang Manipon (Buklog: The Ritual System of the Subanen of Zamboangga Peninsula), Kristoffer Brugada (Elehiya sa Paglimot), Jean Claire Dy at Manuel Domes (House in Pieces), Kristoffer Villarino at Januar Yap (Masterpiece), and Ramona Diaz (A Thousand Cuts).

There are nine nominees for Pinakamahusay na Maikling Pelikula, including Arjanmar Rebata (My Father is an Astro-Not), Cris Bingas (Next Picture), Kim Timan (Noontime Drama), Jules Lumiged (Dad-aan Na), Mijan Jumalon (Ola), Sine Sanyata (Yawyaw ni JP), Hubert Tibi (Pabasa Kan Pasyon), Norbin delos Santos (Isang Daa’t Isang Mariposa), and Levilou Corpuz (Ang Bahagharing Uhaw sa Ulan).

Lav Diaz, who is nominated for three awards this year for Best Director, Best Screenplay (Lahi, Hayop), and Best Cinematography (Lahi, Hayop), is also the recipient of the 44th Natatanging Gawad Urian. He is best known for his brilliance in Florentina Hubaldo (2012), The Woman Who Left (2016), and Season of the Devil (2018). 

The 44th Gawad Urian is slated on Oct. 21 at 8:00 p.m. It will be live-streamed on TVUP’s YouTube channel and the MPP’s Facebook page. In the gallery below are the other nominees for the highly anticipated event.


Photos from the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino's Facebook page