Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

Broadway's first all-Filipino cast announced for musical about Imelda Marcos

By Ratziel San Juan Published May 02, 2023 10:08 am

The upcoming musical Here Lies Love has announced the members of its all-Filipino cast, a first in Broadway history.

Tony-winning actress Lea Salonga leads the ensemble cast including Arielle Jacobs, Jose Llana, and Conrad Ricamora.

"History has been made!" Salonga posted on social media.

She and the Broadway production both celebrated the feat in time for Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) Heritage Month this May in the United States.

"No better way to kick off AAPI Heritage Month than by introducing the world to our beautiful all-Filipino Broadway cast!" the official pages of Here Lies Love posted.

Jacobs starred in the Broadway productions of In the Heights and Aladdin, while Llana performed in Rent and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. Meanwhile, Ricamora is best known for his role in American drama series How to Get Away with Murder, but also made his Broadway debut with The King and I.

The all-Filipino cast announcement comes less than two weeks after Filipino-American singer H.E.R. was announced to join the musical's producing team. The project could actually be H.E.R.'s ticket to winning a Tony and achieving "EGOT" distinction having previously won an Emmy, Oscar, and five Grammy Awards.

Here Lies Love is a musical that narrates former First Lady Imelda Marcos' rise and fall from power after the EDSA People Power Revolution.

David Byrne created the musical's concept and lyrics, as well as produced the music with Fatboy Slim. Alex Timbers developed and directed the production while Annie-B Parson choreographed.

Other cast members include Melody Butiu, Moses Villarama, Jasmine Forsberg, Reanne Acasio, Jaygee Macapugay, Julia Abueva, Renée Albulario, Aaron Alcaraz, Carol Angeli, Nathan Angelo, Kristina Doucette, Roy Flores, Timothy Matthew Flores, Sarah Kay, Jeigh Madjus, Aaron “AJ” Mercado, Geena Quintos, Shea Renne, and Angelo Soriano.