Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

Lorde to release 'Solar Power' album in 'discless format' this August

By Camille Santiago Published Jun 22, 2021 12:22 pm

Lorde is finally giving us what we want: her Solar Power album, coming August 20.

The announcement came after a few weeks from the release of her first single, Solar Power, since her last record, 2017's Melodrama. Along with the 12-track song list, Lorde also revealed that she will hit the road and tour North America in 2022.

“The album is a celebration of the natural world, an attempt at immortalizing the deep, transcendent feelings I have when I’m outdoors,” Lorde said in a statement. “In times of heartache, grief, deep love, or confusion, I look to the natural world for answers. I’ve learned to breathe out, and tune in. This is what came through."

Staying true to her environmental inspiration and “to honor the natural world,” she will release “a first-of-its kind, discless format." Instead of a CD, "an eco-conscious Music Box will be available for purchase." This will come with extra content including exclusive photos, handwritten notes, and a download card that comes with two bonus tracks.

“I decided early on in the process of making this album that I also wanted to create an environmentally kind, forward-thinking alternative to the CD,” Lorde explained. “I wanted this Music Box product to be similar in size, shape and price to a CD, to live alongside it in a retail environment, but be something which stands apart and that’s committed to the evolving nature of a modern album.”

Solar Power is available for pre-order here.

Solar Power Tracklist

1. “The Path”
2. “Solar Power”
3. “California”
4. “Stoned in the Nail Salon”
5. “Fallen Fruit”
6. “Secrets From a Girl (Who’s Seen It All)”
7. “The Man with An Axe”
8. “Dominoes”
9. “Big Star”
10. “Leader of a New Regime”
11. “Mood Ring”
12. “Oceanic Feeling”

Photos from Lorde's official website