Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

EXO is back—after a year and a half—with special album ‘Don’t Fight the Feeling’

By Hannah Mallorca Published Jun 07, 2021 7:52 pm

EXO has finally returned after a year and a half with their special album “Don’t Fight the Feeling”—which feels like a love letter to EXO-Ls. 

“Don’t Fight the Feeling” is the South Korean-Chinese boy group’s seventh album, marking their first release since their 2019 album Obsession.” The album and music video were released today, June 7.

According to Kyungsoo in EXO’s spoiler video released in April 2021, the title track Don’t Fight the Feeling continues the storyline of their 2017 song Power. 

What makes the album stand out from their previous releases is the sentimental tone featured in their music video and album. It’s been a while since the group has released new music, so this is considered a special comeback to EXO-Ls. 

Of course, the tracks in the special album feature their vocal abilities, especially their main vocalists. You can’t miss out on the signature raspiness of Baekhyun and the R&B-like huskiness of Kyungsoo.

The special album features the return of members Xiumin and Kyungsoo who were discharged from the military on December 2020 and January 2021, respectively. 

Lay also participated in the production of the album, his return to the group since Don’t Mess Up My Tempo in 2018. 

On the other hand, Chanyeol and Baekhyun participated in the recording of the album and music video before they enlisted in the military in March 2021 and May 2021, respectively. 

The special album does not include Chen and Suho who are currently completing their mandatory military service.

EXO debuted in 2012 with a space-inspired concept, following a narrative where the members are aliens with superpowers. The group started out with 12 members, with Kris, Luhan, and Tao departing the unit due to contract disputes.

As of this writing, the members who are currently active include Xiumin, Kyungsoo, Kai, and Sehun.

Check out the album “Don’t Fight the Feeling” below:

Banner photo from @weareoneEXO on Twitter