Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

'Maria Clara at Ibarra' and other local TV shows shortlisted for New York Festivals TV & Film Awards

By Melanie Uson Published Mar 17, 2023 1:16 pm

Philippine shows are making waves in this year’s New York Festivals TV & Film Awards. 

On Thursday, March 16, the award-giving body announced the official list of shortlisted programs from all over the globe, including 10 entries from the Philippines. Entries were divided into 14 categories, including entertainment programs, documentaries, news programs, and news reports/features, among others. 

Beloved historical-themed television series Maria Clara at Ibarra—which stars GMA artists Barbie Forteza, David Licauco, Julie Ann San Jose, and Dennis Trillo—landed a spot in the Entertainment Program: Drama category.

Meanwhile, eight other GMA shows also made it to the list, including the longest-running magazine show Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho with their features Onse for the Documentary: Human Concerns category, and Sugat ng Pangungulila for the Documentary: Health/Medical Information category. In 2022, the magazine show bagged a World Bronze Medal for the Health/Information category.  

Born to be Wild: Primate Planet has also landed a spot for the Documentary: Environment & Ecology, and I:Witness: Black Soldier Fly for the Documentary: Science & Technology. 

Joining the list are Reporter's Notebook: Our School is Sinking feature for the Documentary: Community Portraits category, and Runaway Child Bride for the Documentary: Cultural Issues. 

Still on the documentary category, two features from The Atom Araullo Specials are nominated: Eye in the Dark for the Documentary: Social Issues category, and The Missing for the Documentary: Human Concerns category. 

Also joining the list is ABS-CBN's KBYN: Kaagapay ng Bayan which was shorlisted for the News Program: Best Public Affairs Program category. 

The New York Festivals TV & Film Awards “honor and promote the exceptional and innovative content” considering entries from over 50 countries. The winners will be announced in April 2023.