Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

'Twenty Five, Twenty One,' 'Squid Game,' and more are among the nominees at the 58th Baeksang Arts Awards

By Jemima Cruz Published Apr 11, 2022 6:22 pm

The Baeksang Arts Awards has officially announced its complete list of nominees for their 58th year, and among them are some of the most popular K-dramas to date, including Squid Game and D.P.

Dubbed as the Oscars of South Korea, Baeksang Art Awards is one of the most prestigious awarding ceremonies in the K-showbiz industry recognizing excellence in film, television, and theater.

Twenty-Five, Twenty One star Kim Tae Ri is nominated in the Best Acting Award for Female category, while one of her co-stars, Choi Hyun Wook also got nominated in a major acting award, 'Best New Actor’ category. This buzz-worthy romance melodrama also filled a spot in the Best Picture nomination list. 

Meanwhile, the survival thriller drama, Squid Game scored numerous spots in the list of nominees in both acting and technical categories. Player #456, lead actor Lee Jung Jae, is one of the nominees for Best Actor Award. The infamous gangster in the series, Heo Seong-tae together with his co-star Kim Joo-ryeong are also recognized nominees for Best Supporting Actor and Actress categories. Technical category nominations for Squid Game are Best Picture, Best Screenplay and Best Director categories for Director Dong Hyuk Wang. 

Moreover, Actor Jung Hae In, lead star of her recent drama D.P. has a tight competition with the lead star of squid game in his nomination for Best Actor Award. Along with this, D.P. is also nominated for Best Picture (Drama) and Director JunHee Han for Best Director Category. 

Fans of My Beloved Summer, on the other hand, were not left empty handed after the series was announced within the list of nominees for Best Screenplay category acknowledging the writer, Naeun Lee for the drama’s coming-of-age story of youth and romance. 

See full list of nominees below:


Best Director:

  • Yoon Sung Ho (Political Fever)
  • Lee Na Jung (Mine)
  • Jung Ji In (The Red Sleeve)
  • Han Jun Hee (D.P.)
  • Hwang Dong Hyuk (Squid Game)

Best Scenario:

  • Kim Min Seok (Juvenile Justice)
  • Kim Hong Gi, Park Noo Ri, Choi Sung Jin, Yoon Sung Ho (Political Fever)
  • Baek Mi Kyung (Mine)
  • Lee Na Eun (Our Beloved Summer)
  • Hwang Dong Hyuk (Squid Game)

Best TV Series:

  • D.P.
  • Twenty-Five, Twenty One
  • Squid Game
  • The Red Sleeve
  • Going To The Blue House Like This

Best Actress (TV):

  • Kim Tae Ri (Twenty-Five, Twenty One)
  • Kim Hye Soo (Juvenile Justice)
  • Park Eun Bin (The King’s Affection)
  • Lee Se Young (The Red Sleeve)
  • Han So Hee (My Name)

Best Actor (TV)

  • Kim Nam Gil (Cross Black)
  • Lee Jung Jae (Squid Game)
  • Lee Jun Ho (The Red Sleeve)
  • Im Si Wan (Tracer)
  • Jung Hae In (D.P.)

Best Supporting Actor:

  • Lee Deok Hwa (The Red Sleeve)
  • Lee Hak Joo (Political Fever)
  • Lee Hyun Wook (Mine)
  • Jo Hyun Chul (D.P.)
  • Heo Sung Tae (Squid Game)

Best Supporting Actress:

  • Kang Mal Geum (Thirty Nine)
  • Kim Shin Rok (Hellbound)
  • Kim Joo Ryung (Squid Game)
  • Ok Ja Yeon (Mine)
  • Jang Hye Jin (The Red Sleeve)

Best New Actress (TV):

  • Kim Hye Jun (Inspector Koo)
  • Lee Yeon (Juvenile Justice)
  • Lee Yoo Mi (All Of Us Are Dead)
  • Jung Ho Yeon (Squid Game)
  • Cho Yi Hyun (All Of Us Are Dead)

Best New Actor (TV):

  • Koo Kyo Hwan (D.P.)
  • Shin Seung Ho (D.P.)
  • Yoo In Soo (All Of Us Are Dead)
  • Choi Hyun Wook (Twenty-Five, Twenty One)
  • Tang Jun Sang (Racket Boys)

Best Film:

  • Miracle: Letters to the President
  • Escape from Mogadishu
  • Sewing Sisters
  • Romance Without Love
  • Kingmaker

Best Actor (Male):

  • Kim Yoon Seok (‘Escape from Mogadishu’),
  • Sol Kyung Gu (‘Kingmaker’),
  • Lee Sun Kyun (‘Kingmaker’),
  • Jung Woo (‘Hot Blooded’),
  • Choi Min Sik (‘In Our Prime’)

Best Actor (Female):

  • Go Doo Shim (‘Everglow’)
  • Park So Dam (‘Special Cargo’)
  • Lee Hye Young (‘In Front of Your Face’)
  • Im Yoon Ah (‘Miracle: Letters to the President’)
  • Jeon Jong Seo (‘Romance Without Love’) 

Best Supporting Actor (Male):

  • Koo Kyo Hwan (‘Escape from Mogadishu’)
  • Park Yong Woo (‘Spiritwalker’)
  • Sung Yoo Bin (‘Perhaps Love’)
  • Jo Woo Jin (‘Kingmaker’)
  • Heo Joon Ho (‘Escape from Mogadishu’)

Best Supporting Actor (Female):

  • Kim So Jin (‘Escape from Mogadishu’)
  • Kim Jae Hwa (‘Escape from Mogadishu’)
  • Shim Dal Gi (‘Snowball’)
  • Oh Na Ra (‘Perhaps Love’)
  • Lee Soo Kyung (‘Miracle: Letters to the President’)

Best New Actor (Male):

  • Kim Dong Hwi (‘In Our Prime’)
  • Kim Jae Beom (‘Hostage: Missing Celebrity’)
  • Mu Jin Sung (‘Perhaps Love’)
  • Lee Hong Nae (‘Hot Blooded’)
  • Jung Jae Kwang (‘Not Out’)

Best New Actor (Female):

  • Gong Seung Yeon (‘Aloners’)
  • Bang Min Ah (‘Snowball’)
  • Seohyun (‘Love and Leashes’)
  • Lee Yoo Mi (‘Young Adult Matters’)
  • Choi Seung Eun (‘Ten Months’)
Variety Shows

Best Variety Show:

  • Kick A Goal
  • Single's Inferno
  • Street Woman Fighter
  • Yoo Quiz On The Block
  • Transit Love

Best Entertainer (Male):

  • Kim Gura
  • Moon Se Yoon
  • Lee Yong Jin
  • Cho Se Ho
  • SHINee’s Key

Best Entertainer (Female):

  • Song Eun Yi
  • Lee Mi Joo
  • Lee Eun Ji
  • Joo Hyun Young
  • Hong Jin Kyung

The 58th Baeksang Awards will happen on May 6 at KINTEX in Ilsan, Gyeonggi-do. It will be broadcast live simultaneously on JTBC, JTBC2, and JTBC4 at 7:45 PM KST.