Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

LIST: Philippine Presidents who minted their inauguration with commemorative coins, medals

By AYIE LICSI Published Jul 04, 2022 4:32 pm

Days after the inauguration of President Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr., details from the day are still making the rounds online.

After the president took his oath at the National Museum, honored guests were invited to the Malacañang palace for the inaugural dinner. The event, which was graced by senators, politicians, industry leaders, and celebrities, did not have members of the media present and the only details known are from posts of attendees.

“The inaugural dinner went very well. It was a happy occasion for everybody who was there. The dinner was solemn and the whole inaugural was solemn, simple, and traditional," press secretary Trixie Cruz-Angeles said of the occasion.

On July 3, Harry Roque shared a photo of the inaugural souvenir: a commemorative medallion featuring the new president. 

Created by El Oro Engraver, the brass gold plated medallion featured the name, face, and title of Marcos Jr. as the 17th President of the Philippines. It was encased in a red velvet box. 

But Marcos Jr. isn't the only president who celebrated his inauguration with a commemorative coin/medallion. Here are other former presidents who minted their ascension to the presidency.

Rodrigo Duterte

Those who were invited to witness the inauguration of former president Rodrigo Duterte at Malacañang Palace were given an inauguration coin encased in a white box with blue and red ribbons.

The coin itself features an image of Duterte in front with his name, the date of the inauguration, and his title as the 16th president of the Philippines. The other side shows the words "Sagisag ng pangulo ng Pilipinas" with the presidential seal.

Joseph Ejercito Estrada

In celebration of former president Joseph Ejercito Estrada's inauguration, a medal was minted in 1998.

The medal featured an image of Estrada swearing his oath inside the Barasoain Church in Malolos, Bulacan in front, and the Malacañang Palace at the back. This was issued to commemorate his inauguration on June 30, 1998.

Fidel V. Ramos

For his 1992 inauguration at the Quirino Grandstand, Fidel V. Ramos had a commemorative medal featuring his image and his title as president. At the back of the medal is an image of a hand doing a thumbs-up pose.

Cory Aquino

Holding a rival inauguration against Marcos Sr. on February 25, 1986, Cory Aquino was sworn in as the 11th president of the Philippines in Club Filipino, San Juan. Her presidency was commemorated with a medal with "First Woman President of the Philippines" and "New Government" engraved.

Ferdinand Marcos Sr.

Back in 1965, guests of the December 30 inauguration of the late Ferdinand Marcos Sr., who would rule the country under martial law until 1986, received a commemorative medal.

The item featured conjoined busts of Marcos and his wife Imelda in front with the seal of the President of the Philippines at the back. The text "President of the Philippines" and "This nation can be great again" are inscribed on the medal.

Carlos P. Garcia

In 1957, Carlos P. Garcia had a medal to commemorate his inauguration featuring his image, the date of his oathtaking, and his title as the fourth president of the Third Republic of the Philippines.

Ramon Magsaysay

For former president Ramon Magsaysay's 1953 inauguration, a medal was made for the occasion.

Engraved by G.C. Valdez, the item dons the faces of Magsaysay and his then Vice President Carlos P. Garcia in front and the seal of the president of the Philippines.

Manuel L. Quezon

When Manuel L. Quezon was inaugurated as the President of the Commonwealth of the Philippines on November 15, 1935, commemorative medals were given to attendees.

A medal was also made in honor of Quezon, featuring his bust on top of the Malacañang Palace in front.