Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper Shop Hello! Create with us

Equation solved: Ed Sheeran releases '=' tracklist and a folksy new single

By SAAB LARIOSA Published Aug 20, 2021 4:50 pm

Ed Sheeran is almost done solving his discography of mathematical symbols.

The English singer has confirmed that his fourth album will be titled (pronounced Equals) and set to drop on Oct. 29. The upcoming album fits into the equation of his first album + (Plus) which came out in 2011, followed by x (Multiply) in 2014, and ÷ (Divide) in 2017.

Written in the span of four years, the 30-year-old shared that the new project is very much a "coming of age" record that follows his life since he took a hiatus to get married and welcome his first child.

"It's been a long, long process. I’ve been through love, loss, new life, grief, and everything in between during the whole period of writing it, and I feel like it’s really a coming of age record," he shared on Instagram.

"I’ve never been more proud of a body of work, or more excited/nervous for you all to hear it."

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ed Sheeran (@teddysphotos)

The album showcases 14 new solo tracks since the singer's separate "Collaborations" album. 

  1. Tides
  2. Shivers
  3. First Times
  4. Bad Habits
  5. Overpass Graffiti
  6. The Joker and the Queen
  7. Leave Your Life
  8. Collide
  9. 2Step
  10. Stop the Rain
  11. Love in Slow Motion
  12. Visiting Hours
  13. Sandman
  14. Be Right Now

Meanwhile, Sheeran returned to his folksy roots with the release of Equals' second single, Visiting Hours. With his familiar vocals and toned-down instrumentals, the somber song is reminiscent of the artist's earlier works from the + (Plus) era. 

He shared that he wrote the song while on a 2-week quarantine to attend the funeral of his friend and Australian music promoter Michael Gudinski.

Listen to Visiting Hours here:

Banner photos from Ed Sheeran's Instagram