Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

LIST: John Lloyd Cruz, Baron Geisler, Nadine Lustre nominated for top acting awards in 46th Gawad Urian

By Luis Veron Published Nov 04, 2023 5:05 pm

John Lloyd Cruz, Baron Geisler, and Nadine Lustre are among the Nominees for the 46th annual Gawad Urian Awards.

According to the recent Facebook post of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, the three will compete for the “Best Actor” and “Best Actress” awards at the ceremony that will take place at the UP Film Institute on Nov. 29.  

John Lloyd got a nomination for his work in the film Kapag Wala nang Mga Alon. In August, he won the prestigious Boccalino d’Oro in this category at the 76th Locarno Film Festival.

Baron, on the other hand, was nominated for his work in the film Doll House with him winning Asia's Best Actor in a Lead Role at the Thailand International Leadership Awards last October.  

They are not the only two nominations for the category either, as Tommy Alejandrino (The Baseball Player), Andrew Ramsey (Ginhawa), and Noel Trinidad (Family Matters) will prove to be a tough competition for the award. 

Nadine was nominated for her role in the psychological thriller Deleter, in which she will compete against the likes of Max Eigenmann (12 Weeks), Chai Fonacier (Nocebo), and Sheila Francisco (Leonor Will Never Die) for the award.  

It is worth noting that the film Deleter by Mikhail Red recently won the Big Scare award at the 2023 Grimmfest in the United Kingdom, with the independent film festival recognizing horror, cult, extreme fantasy, and science fiction movies since 2009. 

Another notable award is the “Best Film” Category, in which films such as Blue Room, Leonor Will Never Die, 12 Weeks, and Kapag Wala nang Mga Alon are nominated for the award. 

Veteran actor Jaime Fabregas will also be recognized as this year’s recipient of the Natatanging Gawad Urian, a lifetime achievement award. 

Here is the complete list of the awards and nominees for the 46th Gawad Urian Awards.   

Best Film 

  • "Blue Room"
  • "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • "12 Weeks"
  • "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"

Best Director 

  • Ma-an L. Asuncion-Dagñalan, "Blue Room"
  • Lav Diaz, "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"
  • Martika Ramirez Escobar, "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • Anna Isabelle Matutina, "12 Weeks"
  • Carlo Obispo, "The Baseball Player"
  • Mikhail Red, "Deleter" 

Best Actress 

  • Max Eigenmann, "12 Weeks"
  • Chai Fonacier, "Nocebo"
  • Sheila Francisco, "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • Nadine Lustre, "Deleter" 

Best Actor 

  • Tommy Alejandrino, "The Baseball Player"
  • John Lloyd Cruz, "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"
  • Baron Geisler, "Doll House"
  • Andrew Ramsey, "Ginhawa"
  • Noel Trinidad, "Family Matters" 

Best Actress in Supporting Role 

  • Sharmaine Centenera, "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"
  • Claudia Enriquez, "12 Weeks"
  • Bing Pimentel, "12 Weeks"
  • Nikki Valdez, "Family Matters" 

Best Actor in a Supporting Role 

  • Soliman Cruz, "Blue Room"
  • Dido dela Paz, "Ginhawa"
  • JK Labajo, "Blue Room"
  • Ronnie Lazaro, "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"
  • Rocky Salumbides, "Leonor Will Never Die"

Best Screenplay 

  • Lav Diaz, "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"
  • Martika Ramirez Escobar, "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • Jason Gray and Chie Hayakawa, "Plan 75"
  • Siege Ledesma and Ma-an L. Asuncion-Dagñalan, "Blue Room"
  • Anna Isabelle Matutina, "12 Weeks"
  • Garret Shanley, "Nocebo” 

Best Cinematography 

  • Neil Daza, "Blue Room"
  • Ian Alexander Guevara, "Deleter"
  • Jakuub Kijowski and Radek Ladczuk, "Nocebo"
  • Larry Manda, "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"
  • Carlos Mauricio, "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • Hideho Urata, "Plan 75"

Best Editing 

  • Lawrence Ang, "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • Tony Cranstoun, "Nocebo"
  • Vanessa de Leon, "Blue Room"
  • Zig Dulay, "The Baseball Player"
  • Goncalo Ferreira, "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"
  • Nikolas Red, "Deleter" 

Best Production Design 

  • Lav Diaz, "Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon"
  • Marxie Maolen Fadul, "Blue Room"
  • Eero Yves Francisco, "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • Benjamin Padero, "Nocebo"


Best Music 

  • Mikey Amistoso and Jazz Nicolas, "Blue Room"
  • Alyana Cabral, Pan de Coco, Joseph Salcedo, "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • Jose Buencamino, "Nocebo" 

Best Sound 

  • Kristian Eidnes Andersen, "Nocebo"
  • Armand de Guzman, "Deleter"
  • Corrine de San Jose, "Leonor Will Never Die"
  • Jannina Mikaela Minglanilla and Michael Keanu Cruz, "Blue Room"
  • Alex Tomboc, "The Baseball Player"
  • Wildsound Studios, "Ginhawa"
  • Wildsound Studios, "Nanahimik ang Gabi"

Natatanging Gawad Urian 

  • Jaime Fabregas