Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

LISTEN: Taylor Swift drops four new songs ahead of Eras tour

By John Patrick Magno Ranara Published Mar 17, 2023 4:29 pm

Taylor Swift fans are eating good today as the four new songs of the award-winning singer and songwriter have just been released.

Among the previously unreleased tracks include Safe & Sound, a song she performed with Joy Williams and John Paul White that was part of the official soundtrack to the 2012 film The Hunger Games.

Described as a folk ballad, the song's lyrics depict the film's protagonist Katniss Everdeen as she empathizes with other characters who will soon be forced to risk their lives playing the dangerous "hunger games."

Another song from the dystopian action film that was re-recorded by Taylor is Eyes Open. According to the singer, she focused the lyrics on Katniss' relationship with the Capitol and serves as a warning for her not to trust anyone, which is entirely the opposite message that Safe & Sound radiates.

Taylor has also released her own version of If This Was a Movie, which was a bonus song on the deluxe edition of her third studio album, Speak Now.

But perhaps the most notable one from the four releases is the never-before-heard song All of the Girls You Loved Before, which seems to center on Taylor reflecting on all of her romantic partner's past flames and expressing her gratitude to them for making the love of her life the man he is now.

Taylor released the new musical masterpieces ahead of her Eras Tour, which will kick off in Glendale, Arizona this March 17. It will feature other acts including Paramore, Haim, Phoebe Bridgers, Gracie Abrams, MUNA, Girl in Red, GAYLE, and Owenn.