Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

KathDen, DongYan to receive honors at Box Office Entertainment Awards

By John Patrick Magno Ranara Published May 03, 2024 7:39 pm

Celebrity couple Marian Rivera and Dingdong Dantes, as well as on-screen partners Kathryn Bernardo and Alden Richards, will be honored at this year's Box Office Entertainment Awards, which returned after a five-year hiatus.

The award show was last held back in 2019 before it was canceled due to the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

For their latest lineup of honors, Marian and Dingdong, known as DongYan, will be recognized as the Box Office Phenomal Stars of Philippine Cinema for their Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2023 entry, Rewind. They will also receive the award for Most Popular Loveteam for Movies.

The romantic drama film, which follows the story of an arrogant husband who wishes to "rewind" his marriage with his wife when they encounter unforeseen household difficulties, currently holds the distinction of being the highest-grossing Philippine film of all time after it crossed the P1 billion at the box office. It is also the first Filipino film to surpass that mark.

Dingdong will also be hailed as Film Actor of the Year, an award that he will share with Piolo Pascual who starred in another MMFF 2023 movie Mallari.

Kathryn and Alden, known as KathDen, will meanwhile be honored with the Box Office Queen and King awards for their recent films A Very Good Girl and Five Breakups and A Romance, respectively. Both films grossed P100 million at the box office.

The two of them previously partnered up for the 2019 romantic drama Hello, Love, Goodbye, which was previously the highest-grossing Philippine film of all time after earning P880.6 million until it was surpassed by Rewind.

Other celebrities who will be honored include Barbie Forteza, Dennis Trillo, Belle Mariano, Donny Pangilinan, Vilma Santos, and more.

Here is the official list of winners:

  • Box Office Phenomenal Stars of Philippine Cinema - Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera (Rewind)
  • Box Office King - Alden Richards (Five Breakups and A Romance)
  • Box Office Queen - Kathryn Bernardo (A Very Good Girl)
  • Film Actors of the Year - Dingdong Dantes (Rewind) and Piolo Pascual (Mallari)
  • Film Actress of the Year - Vilma Santos (When I Met You in Tokyo)
  • Primetime TV Drama Actor of the Year - Dennis Trillo (Maria Clara at Ibarra)
  • Primetime TV Drama Actress of the Year - Barbie Forteza (Maria Clara at Ibarra)
  • Daytime TV Drama Actor of the Year - Richard Yap (Abot-Kamay Na Pangarap)
  • Daytime TV Drama Actress of the Year - Jillian Ward (Abot-Kamay Na Pangarap)
  • Prince of Philippine Entertainment -Donny Pangilinan
  • Princess of Philippine Entertainment - Belle Mariano
  • Movie Supporting Actor of the Year - Enchong Dee (Gomburza)
  • Movie Supporting Actress of the Year -Alessandra da Rossi (Firefly)
  • TV Supporting Actor of the Year - Tirso Cruz III (Maria Clara at Ibarra)
  • TV Supporting Actress of the Year - Pinky Amador (Abot-Kamay na Pangarap)
  • Most Popular Loveteam for Movies - Dingdong Dantes & Marian Rivera (Rewind)
  • Most Popular Loveteam for Television - Ruru Madrid & Bianca Umali (The Write One)
  • Concert of the Year - Dear Heart The Concert Series MOA Arena (Sharon Cuneta & Gabby Concepcion)
  • Male Concert Performer of the Year - Bamboo (Sarah G x Bamboo)
  • Female Concert Performer of the Year -Sarah G (Sarah G x Bamboo)
  • Male Recording Artist of the Year - Darren  (Bibitaw Na - Top Streamed)
  • Female Recording Artist of the Year  - Moira dela Torre (Ikaw at Sila Album/EME Album)
  • Most Popular Recording/Performing Group - SB19 (Pagtatag World Tour)
  • Most Popular Child Performer of the Year - Euween Mikaeli (Firefly)
  • Most Popular Film  Producer - Star Cinema, APT Productions, Agosto Dos for "Rewind"
  • Most  Popular Screenwriter - Enrico Santos
  • Most Popular Film Director - Mae Cruz Alviar
  • Most Popular TV Program -News & Public Affairs - Kapuso Mo, Jessica  Soho
  • Most Popular TV Program - Primetime Drama - FPJ’s Batang Quiapo
  • Most Popular TV Program - Talk Show - Fast Talk With Boy Abunda
  • Most Popular  TV Program (Reality/Talent/Game) - Family Feud
  • Most Popular TV Program (Noontime/Primetime/ Musical Variety) -ASAP
  • Male TV Host - Luis Manzano
  • Female TV Host – Maine Mendoza & Kim Chiu
  • Comedy Actor of the Year – Bong Revilla, Jr. (Walang Matigas na Pulis sa Matinik na Misis)
  • Comedy Actress of the Year -Beauty Gonzales (Walang Matigas Na Pulis sa Matinik na Misis)

The Box Office Entertainment Awards will hold its awarding ceremony on May 12, 2024, at the Henry Lee Irwin Theater at Ateneo de Manila University. It will be broadcasted on May 25 on Channel A2Z.