Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

Erwin Tulfo, Bong Go, Isko Moreno among top senatorial bets in 2025 elections: survey

By NICK GARCIA Published Jan 02, 2024 11:30 am

Deputy Majority Leader and former social welfare secretary Erwin Tulfo, incumbent senator Bong Go, and former Manila mayor and presidential candidate Isko Moreno are among the top preferred senatorial candidates for the 2025 midterm elections, a survey showed.

According to OCTA Research’s “Tugon ng Masa” survey conducted on Dec. 10 to 14 and released on Jan. 2, Tulfo, who’s also a former broadcaster like his brother Sen. Raffy Tulfo, is the top choice among 1,200 respondents.

Go followed with a ranking of 2nd to 3rd, while former senate president and vice presidential candidate Tito Sotto came next with a ranking of 2nd to 4th.

Incumbent senators Bato Dela Rosa, Imee Marcos, and Bong Revilla placed 3rd to 5th, 4th to 5th, and 6th to 10th, respectively.

Other preferred bets that round out the so-called “Magic 12” and their rankings include:

  • Sen. Francis Tolentino – 6th to 11th
  • Moreno – 6th to 11th
  • Former senator Ping Lacson – 6th to 11th
  • Sen. Pia Cayetano – 6th to 12th
  • Former senator and presidential candidate, boxer Manny Pacquiao – 7th to 12th
  • Former vice president Jojo Binay – 10th to 13th

The OCTA Research survey also mentioned personalities comprising currently elected officials, former politicians, previous candidates, and celebrities:

  • Sen. Lito Lapid  – 12th to 22nd
  • Department of Defense Sec. Gibo Teodoro – 13th to 24th
  • Ex-Department of Information and Communications Technology secretary Gringo Honasan – 13th to 24th
  • Department of Interior and Local Government Sec. Benhur Abalos – 13th to 24th
  • Television host Willie Revillame – 13th to 24th
  • Former vice presidential candidate Dr. Willie Ong – 13th to 24th
  • Former vice president Leni Robredo – 13th to 28th
  • Former vice presidential candidate Kiko Pangilinan – 13th to 31st
  • House Deputy Speaker Ralph Recto – 13th to 31st
  • Former vice president Mar Roxas – 13th to 31st
  • Former senator Dick Gordon – 14th to 31st
  • Davao City 1st District Rep. Pulong Duterte – 14th to 31st
  • Former senator Bam Aquino – 18th to 36th
  • Former Quezon City mayor and actor Herbert Bautista – 18th to 36th
  • Former Senate president Franklin Drilon – 18th to 36th
  • Former vice president and news anchor Noli De Castro – 18th to 36th
  • Leyte 4th District Rep. and actor Richard Gomez – 20th to 38th
  • Former senator Sonny Trillanes– 20th to 38th
  • Makati Mayor Abby Binay – 20th to 38th
  • Human rights lawyer Neri Colmenares – 25th to 43rd
  • Former presidential spokesperson and senatorial candidate Harry Roque – 25th to 47th
  • Human rights lawyer Chel Diokno – 25th to 47th
  • Former Anakalusugan Party-list representative Mike Defensor – 25th to 47th
  • Former senator Leila De Lima – 25th to 47th

The Senate of the Philippines is composed of 24 members, with 12 of them being elected at large every three years.

Senators may serve six-year terms with a maximum of two consecutive terms.

Along with the House of Representatives members, they are responsible for creating laws to be signed by the president.

The Senate can also concur with treaties and can try impeachment cases.