Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

LOOK: Nesthy Petecio, Carlo Paalam to wear 'Sinag' barong by Francis Libiran at 2024 Paris Olympics

By Melanie Uson Published Jun 19, 2024 9:52 pm

The Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) has unveiled the official barong to be worn by boxers Nesthy Petecio and Carlo Paalam, the country's flagbearers at the opening ceremony of the 2024 Paris Olympics. 

Designed by renowned Filipino designer Francis Libiran, the “Sinag” barong bears stunning details of Philippine culture. The custom ensemble features embroidered sun rays and Pintados-inspired warrior patterns on its collar. 

Its bodice is also adorned with a detachable silk organdy sling that carries the colors of the Philippine flag with another Pintados-inspired warrior pattern on top.

This custom barong is made out of piña-jusi fabric.

"The name 'Sinag' translates to 'Rays of the Sun,' symbolizing hope and optimism. This design embodies the spirit and pride of the Filipino people," Libiran shared with ABS-CBN News.

This marks the first time that Libiran was commissioned by the POC to design the official uniform of Filipino athletes for the Olympics.  

Prior to this, he designed ensembles for athletes for the Southeast Asian (SEA) Games. The first was in 2019, followed by an “Agila” ensemble in 2022.

He was also commissioned to create the “Araw” ensemble for the 2023 SEA Games which was held in Cambodia.  

Petecio and Paalam were announced as the flagbearers on June 17. They both earned silver medals at the 2021 Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.  

Petecio secured her slot at the Paris Olympics last March after defeating Turkey's Esra Yildiz Kahraman in the women's 57-kilogram division during the qualifiers in Italy. 

Paalam, meanwhile, booked his Olympics ticket after defeating India's Sachin Siwach in the men's 57kg division qualifiers in Thailand. 

The 2024 Paris Olympics will be held from July 26 to Aug. 11. 

Other Filipino athletes participating in the event include pole vaulter EJ Obiena; fencer Samantha Catantan; gymnasts Carlos Yulo, Aleah Finnegan, Emma Malabuyo, and Levi Ruivivar; rower Joanie Delgaco; and weightlifters John Ceniza, Elreen Ando, and Vanessa Sarno.