Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper Shop Hello! Create with us

More long weekends: PH holidays for 2023 adjusted to boost travel

By Kara Santos Published Nov 16, 2022 2:04 pm Updated Nov 16, 2022 3:20 pm

Planning your vacation leaves for next year?

Get your planners out and save the dates! A new proclamation declaring additional holidays and adjusting other non-working days for 2023 has just been announced.

President Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. on Wednesday, Nov. 16 issued Proclamation No. 90, which now declares January 2, 2023 as a special non-working day while April 10 and November 27, 2023 are now considered as regular holidays. This amends Proclamation No. 42 which was issued in August.

"There is a need to adjust these holidays pursuant to the principle of holiday economics wherein a longer weekend will help encourage domestic travel and increase tourism expenditures in the country," Marcos said.

Since New Year's Day in 2023 falls on a Sunday the President said "it is but fitting to declare January 2 (Monday) as an additional special non-working day throughout the country."

Araw ng Kagitingan (April 9) falls on a Sunday as well.

CLOSE

"To enable our countrymen to avail of the benefits of a longer weekend, Monday, April 10, 2023, in lieu of Sunday, April 9, 2023 may be declared as a non-working holiday, provided that the historical significance of Araw ng Kagitingan is maintained," he said.

Bonifacio Day, which is observed on November 30, falls on a Thursday for 2023. Marcos said November 27 may be declared as a non-working holiday while November 30 may be declared as a working day.

Since New Year's Day falls on a Sunday, January 2 has also been declared an additional special non-working day.

Here's the full list of regular holidays and special (non-working) days for 2023 for your handy reference:

Regular Holidays
  • New Year’s Day - January 1 (Sunday)
  • Araw ng Kagitingan - April 10 (Monday nearest April 9)
  • Maundy Thursday - April 6 (Thursday)
  • Good Friday - April 7 (Thursday)
  • Labor Day - May 1 (Monday)
  • Independence Day - June 12 (Monday)
  • National Heroes Day - August 28 (Last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day - November 27 (Monday nearest November 30)
  • Christmas Day - December 25 (Monday)
  • Rizal Day - December 30 (Saturday)
Special (Non-Working) Days
  • EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary - February 25 (Saturday)
  • Black Saturday - April 8  (Saturday)
  • Ninoy Aquino Day - August 21 (Monday)
  • All Saint’s Day - November 1 (Wednesday)
  • Feast of Immaculate Conception of Mary - December 8 (Friday)
  • Last Day of the Year - December 31 (Sunday)

Additional Special (Non-working) Days

  • January 2 (Monday)
  • November 2 (Thursday)