Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

E-bikes banned on major roads in Metro Manila starting April

By NICK GARCIA Published Feb 29, 2024 10:13 am

The Metro Manila Council (MMC), through the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA), passed a resolution banning e-bikes and other electric vehicles on major roads across the National Capital Region.

MMDA Regulation No. 24-022 prohibits e-bikes, e-trikes, tricycles, pedicabs, pushcasts, and “kuligligs” in the following areas starting in April:

  • Recto Avenue
  • Pres. Quirino Avenue
  • Araneta Avenue
  • EDSA
  • Katipunan/CP Garcia
  • Southeast Metro Manila Expressway
  • Roxas Boulevard
  • Taft Avenue
  • Osmeña Highway
  • Shaw Boulevard
  • Ortigas Avenue
  • Magsaysay Boulevard/Aurora Boulevard
  • Quezon Avenue/Commonwealth Avenue
  • A. Bonifacio Avenue
  • Rizal Avenue
  • Del Pan/Marcos Highway/McArthur Highway
  • Elliptical Road
  • Mindanao Avenue
  • Marcos Highway

Violators will be slapped with a P2,500 fine.

Motorists using e-bikes must also have a driver’s license. If caught, their vehicles would be impounded.

“Due to the proliferation of e-vehicles, the MMC deemed it imperative to regulate and penalize those who will traverse the national roads using such means of transportation,” MMDA acting chief Romando Artes said in a press conference on Feb. 28.

Artes clarified that they’re not totally banning the use of e-bikes, only regulating them as they were “a common cause of traffic and road crash incidents.”

MMDA data showed that there were 554 road crash incidents involving electric vehicles in 2023.

Artes said local government units may also issue their respective ordinances to ban e-bikes on secondary and other inner roads under their jurisdiction.