Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

UPMG holds night golf tournament in Intramuros

Published Jun 01, 2023 3:45 pm

The United Print Media Group (UPMG) successfully staged the first UPMG Cup Night Golf tournament recently at the Intramuros Golf Club.

Corporate executives, media personalities, and special guests took part in an 18-hole fun event.

Seventy players teed off in the gathering dusk. Participants negotiated the fairways and greens around the historic walls of Intramuros with DJs playing dance music. Food and drinks were also served.

“It was a golf party more than anything else,” said UPMG president Barbie Atienza. “Guests had so much fun being part of this inaugural UPMG Cup”

San Miguel Corporation and the Ad Standardization Council were the presenting sponsors. Proceeds of which will be used to fund the many advocacies of UPMG.

Minor sponsors were Toyota Motor Philippines, United Asia Automotive Group, Inc./Chery, Shang Properties, Bingo Plus, Minor sponsors were Shang Properties and Fuji Films, while Kool-Shotz, X-1R, Pag-Ibig, Meralco, Japan Tobacco, Inc., Megaworld, Smart Communications, Converge, Veterans Bank and Out-of-Home Advertising Association of the Philippines served as hole sponsors.

Prize donors were G&W Club Shares, Globe, Mimosa Plus Golf and Quest Plus Hotel, Golf X, Pin High Golf, The Manila Hotel, Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, Belmont, Rizal Park Hotel, Holiday Inn, Belmont Hotel, Luisita Golf and Country Club, Caliraya Springs Golf Club, South Forbes Golf Club, Forest Hills Golf and Country Club. Angel’s Burger and Goto Box were food donors, while Club Marinduque/Staffmasters and Destileria Limtuaco were bar sponsors.

Winners were Gary Sales and Tin Popp, low-gross and low-net, with a 61 and 62, respectively.

Class A was won by Secretary Hermogenes Esperon Jr. after edging Daryl Abueva in the countback, both finished with net 63.

Felix Cortez beat Hyundai executive Hong Chik Shin by two strokes with his 64 while Class C was also settled via a tiebreak with Anthony del Rosario winning over Don Pajarillo.

Marienelle Sales scored a 62 to win the Ladies Division with Jane Llanes placing second.

* * *

Editor’s Note: This article was provided by United Print Media Group.