Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper Shop Hello! Create with us

Leni Robredo camp raises no objection to canvassing of votes, 'to accept the decision of the majority'

By SAAB LARIOSA Published May 24, 2022 4:43 pm

The camp of Vice President Leni Robredo raised no objections to the ongoing canvassing of presidential votes for the 2022 national elections.

In behalf of Robredo, Atty. Romulo Macalintal said that Robredo will also not be making an appearance in the proceedings "to further expedite" the results and "to accept the decision of the majority."

During her May 13 thanksgiving rally, Robredo intimated her acceptance of the election's results, which then show Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. leading with 16 million votes: “Habang lumilinaw na ang litrato, kailangan nating simulang tanggapin na hindi ayon sa mga pangarap natin ang resulta ng eleksyon,” 

Marcos Jr. spokesman and incoming Executive Secretary Vic Rodriguez commended Robredo following Macalintal's manifestation.

"Likewise, we would like to recognize and thank the patriotism exhibited by Vice President Leni Robredo for expressly recognizing the integrity and the result of the recently concluded general elections," Rodriguez said on the stand during the congressional canvassing.

Following Article VII, Section 4 of the 1987 Constitution,  a Congressional committee convenes at Batasang Pambansa as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC) to officially count the presidential and vice-presidential votes of the 2022 national elections.

During the canvassing, the NBOC is tasked to compare the electronically transmitted certificates of canvass with their physical counterparts before officially proclaiming the winners. 

The target date for the proclamation of winners is on Wednesday, May 25.

Marcos Jr. and his running mate, Davao Mayor Sara Duterte, won by a landslide of over 30 million votes each as per Comelec's partial and unofficial tally.

The historical 31.1 mlillon votes for the presumptive president will make him the country's first chief executive to be elected through a majority vote in 30 years.