Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

Ban on e-bikes, e-trikes, tricycles on national roads begins on April 15—MMDA

By AYIE LICSI Published Mar 11, 2024 3:53 pm

Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Chairman Romando Artes has announced that e-bikes, e-trikes, and tricycles will be banned from national roads beginning April 15.

Previously, MMDA issued Regulation No. 24-022 prohibiting light e-vehicles and other slow-moving modes of transport from the national circumferential and radial roads, including:

  • R1: Roxas Boulevard
  • R2: Taft Avenue
  • R3: SLEX
  • R4: Shaw Boulevard
  • R5: Ortigas Avenue
  • R6: Magsaysay Boulevard / Aurora Boulevard
  • R7: Quezon Ave. / Commonwealth Ave.
  • R8: A. Bonifacio Ave.
  • R9: Rizal Ave.
  • R10: Del Pan / Marcos Highway / McArthur Highway
  • C1: Recto Ave.
  • C2: Pres. Quirino Ave.
  • C3: Araneta Ave.
  • C4: Epifanio Delos Santos Ave. (EDSA)
  • C5: Katipunan / C.P. Garcia
  • C6: Southeast Metro Manila Expressway
  • Elliptical Road
  • Mindanao Ave
  • Marcos Highway

Among the vehicles prohibited on the roads listed above are e-bikes, e-trikes, tricycles, pedicabs, pushcarts, and "kuligligs."

Violators will be slapped with a P2,500 fine and motorists using electric motor vehicles and tricycles must have a driver's license or their vehicle will be impounded if caught.

Data from MMDA showed that electric vehicles were involved in 554 road accidents in 2023.

On March 9, Muntinlupa City Mayor Ruffy Biazon said that the said vehicles will not be banned on main roads in the city, but regulations will be in place for safety.