Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

'Big Night!' and the other big wins at the MMFF 2021 awarding night

By SAAB LARIOSA Published Dec 28, 2021 11:13 am

The 2021 Metro Manila Film Festival Gabi ng Parangal concluded last night with social drama Big Night sweeping the big awards.

The Jun Robles Lana-helmed film took home the Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Cinematography awards while lead actor Christian Bables earned his second MMFF Best Actor award during the awarding ceremonies held in SM Aura, Taguig City.

During his speech, Bables dedicated his role to the victims of extrajudicial killings in the country, as his role portrayed a gay man who was included in his town's "hit list."

"Ito po ay inaalay ko para sa mga taong nasa same situation ng kay Darna: people who are voiceless, who are oppressed. I may find it hard to express my opinion in words, but let me fight for you and with you through my art," the actor said.

Charo Santos-Concio also won the Best Actress award for her role in the Typhoon Yolanda-centered film, Kun Maupay Man It Panahon (Whether the Weather is Fine).

Other winners of the night include:

Best Picture: Big Night!
Second Best Picture: Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Third Best Picture: A Hard Day
Best Director: Jun Robles Lana, Big Night!
MMFF Jury Prize Award: Daniel Padilla, Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Actress in a Leading Role: Charo Santos, Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Actor in a Leading Role: Christian Bables
Big Night! Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Rans Rifol, Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: John Arcilla, Big Night!
Best Screenplay: Jun Robles Lana, Big Night! Gatpuno Antonio J Villegas
Cultural Award: Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Cinematography: Carlo Canlas, Big Night!
Best Production Design: Juan Manuel Alcazaren, Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Visual Effects: Mofac Creative Works, Hue Media Quantum Post, Ogie Tiglao, Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Editing: Lawrence Fajardo, A Hard Day
Best Original Theme Song: Umulan Man O Umaraw, Huling Ulan sa Tag-Araw
Best Musical Score: Teresa Barrozo, Big Night!
Best Sound: Albert Michael Idioma, A Hard Day
Best Float: Huwag Kang Lalabas
Gender Sensitivity Award: Big Night!
MMFF Creator Jury’s Choice Award: Kandado
Natatanging Gawad MMFF: Chairman Danny Lim and Bienvenido Lumbera
Marichu Vera Perez Maceda Memorial Award: Rosa Rosal

The eight films included in this year's MMFF roster will be available for viewing in Philippine cinemas until Jan. 7, 2022.

Only around 300 movie theaters nationwide are screening films, down from the usual 900, as many cinemas were left unused for the past two years due to the pandemic.