Style Living Self Geeky News and Views
In the Paper Hello! Create with us

Get ‘Horizon Zero Dawn’ for FREE along with indie titles in Sony's ‘Play at Home’ 2021

By Kara Santos Published Mar 18, 2021 11:16 am

Here's some great news for gamers! As part of its “Play at Home” initiative, Sony has announced a fresh batch of awesome games they are giving away completely for free to PlayStation owners. 

The list includes the critically acclaimed action-adventure title Horizon Zero Dawn and many other indie hits such as Enter the Gungeon and The Witness. 

PlayStation has collaborated with their favorite indie partners to provide more free games for people to explore while they’re staying safe and staying home because of the pandemic.

All of the titles will be completely free of charge for PS4 and PS5 users to download and keep forever as soon as they redeem it, with no active PlayStation Plus subscription required. 

Horizon Zero Dawn will be free to own beginning on April 19 at 8 p.m. PT / 11 p.m. ET and through May 14. In case you haven’t played it yet, getting the breakout game completely for free now may be the perfect timing for PlayStation owners to warm up to the highly anticipated sequel, Horizon Forbidden West, which is slated to be launched for PS4 and PS5 sometime this year.

While waiting for Zero Dawn to drop (or if you already shelled out to buy a copy of the game when it was first released), there’s a huge stack of other excellent games you can claim for free on PS4 and PS5 including ABZÛ, Enter the Gungeon, Rez Infinite, Subnautica, and The Witness. Sony will also offer four PSVR titles for free: Astro Bot Rescue Mission, Moss, Thumper, and Paper Beast. 

Sony plans to offer more titles for PS4 and PS5 owners to claim, with the initiative slated to conclude sometime in June. Sony previously released Ratchet & Clank free of charge at the beginning of the month and the game will be available until March 31 at 8 p.m. PT / 11 p.m. ET.

Last April 2020, to kick off the "Play at Home" initiative, PlayStation gave away free copies of Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection and Journey.

Here’s a look at the other upcoming games you can start to download on March 25, with official descriptions provided by PlayStation and their release or gameplay trailers. 

Abzû

From the artistic mind behind Journey, Flower, and The Pathless, ABZÛ is a beautiful underwater adventure that evokes the dream of diving. Immerse yourself in a vibrant ocean world full of mystery and bursting with color and life.

Enter the Gungeon

Enter the Gungeon is a gunfight dungeon crawler following a band of misfits seeking to shoot, loot, dodge roll and table-flip their way to personal absolution by reaching the legendary Gungeon’s ultimate treasure: the gun that can kill the past.

Rez Infinite

Prepare yourself for the ultimate version of Rez, a thrilling journey of sights and sounds and shooting action, remastered and upgraded by members of the original development team exclusively for PS4 and (optional) PlayStation VR.

Subnautica

You have crash-landed on an alien ocean world, and the only way to go is down. Subnautica’s oceans range from sun-drenched shallow coral reefs to treacherous deep-sea trenches, lava fields, and bio-luminescent underwater rivers. The water teems with life: Some of it helpful, much of it harmful.

The Witness

The Witness is a single-player game in an open world with dozens of locations to explore and over 500 puzzles. This game respects you as an intelligent player and it treats your time as precious. There’s no filler: each of those puzzles brings its own new idea into the mix. So, this is a game full of ideas.

Sony will also be serving up the following free PlayStation VR games starting March 25.

Astro Bot Rescue Mission

Get a whole new perspective on platform games, thanks to PlayStation VR, in this daring rescue operation. Take control of Astro in a massive adventure to rescue his crew, where the PS VR headset puts you right in the thick of the action. Judge every jump with accuracy and be curious—there are lots of secrets to discover in your daring quest.

Moss

Moss is a single-player action-adventure puzzle game and new IP from Polyarc tailor-made for the VR platform. In Moss, players meet Quill, a young mouse with dreams of greatness beyond the confines of her settlement. While exploring the woods, she finds a mysterious Glass Relic and an ancient magic is awakened.

Thumper

Thumper is rhythm violence: classic rhythm-action, blistering speed, and brutal physicality. You are a space beetle. Brave the hellish void and confront a maniacal giant head from the future. Every crushing impact is interwoven with a pounding original soundtrack. To reach synesthetic bliss, you must go through rhythm hell.

Paper Beast

Experience a dreamlike odyssey in virtual reality. Discover a wild ecosystem, born from lost Internet data. Be the first to explore a world inhabited by exotic and surprising creatures, and shape your environment to overcome obstacles and puzzles. Unravel the mysteries of Paper Beast, a game born from the imagination of Eric Chahi (Another World, From Dust).

The amazing selection of PS4 games and PS VR games will be available for free download from March 25 8 p.m. PT / March 26 3 a.m. GMT / 4 a.m. CET to April 22 8 p.m. PT / April 23 4 a.m. BST / 5 a.m. CEST.

Sony is also offering an extended trial of Funimation (or Wakanim, depending on region), a joint venture of Sony Pictures Entertainment and Aniplex of Japan, in select countries. The anime-focused subscription service includes shows such as My Hero Academia, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Attack on Titan, and Fruits Basket. This extended trial offer kicks off on March 25 and is available through April 22, 2021. 

(Images via Sony Interactive Entertainment)