Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

'Oppenheimer' big winner of 2024 BAFTAs. Here are the others

By NICK GARCIA Published Feb 19, 2024 10:10 am

Oppenheimer emerged as the big winner of the 2024 British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA).

The epic biopic about the titular atomic bomb creator led the nominations with 13 nods and won seven of them, including best film, best director for Christopher Nolan, best lead actor for Cillian Murphy, best supporting actor for Robert Downey Jr., and best cinematography.

Sci-fi Poor Things followed with five wins, including best lead actress for Emma Stone, best costume design, and best production design.

Holocaust drama The Zone of Interest was named the outstanding British film, as well as best non-English film and best sound.

Fantasy comedy Barbie, the highest-grossing movie of last year, came home empty-handed.

Here are the rest of the nominees, with the winners in boldface.

Best Film
  • Anatomy of a Fall
  • The Holdovers
  • Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Oppenheimer
  • Poor Things
Outstanding British Film
  • All of Us Strangers
  • How to Have Sex
  • Napoleon
  • The Old Oak
  • Poor Things
  • Rye Lane
  • Saltburn
  • Scrapper
  • Wonka
  • The Zone of Interest
Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
  • Blue Bag Life
  • Bobi Wine: The People’s President
  • Earth Mama
  • How To Have Sex
  • Is There Anybody Out There?
Film Not in the English Language
  • 20 Days In Mariupol
  • Anatomy of a Fall
  • Past Lives
  • Society of the Snow
  • The Zone of Interest
  • 20 Days In Mariupol
  • American Symphony
  • Beyond Utopia
  • Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie
  • Wham!
Animated Film
  • The Boy And The Heron
  • Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget
  • Elemental
  • Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
  • Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers
  • Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall
  • Alexander Payne, The Holdovers
  • Bradley Cooper, Maestro
  • Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer
  • Jonathan Glazer, The Zone of Interest
Adapted Screenplay
  • Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers
  • Cord Jefferson, American Fiction
  • Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer
  • Tony McNamara, Poor Things
  • Jonathan Glazer, The Zone of Interest
Original Screenplay
  • Justine Triet and Arthur Harari, Anatomy of a Fall
  • Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach, Barbie
  • David Hemingson, The Holdovers
  • Bradley Cooper and Josh Singer, Maestro
  • Celine Song, Past Lives
Leading Actor
  • Barry Keoghan, Saltburn
  • Bradley Cooper, Maestro
  • Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer
  • Colman Domingo, Rustin
  • Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers
  • Teo Yoo, Past Lives

Leading Actress

  • Carey Mulligan, Maestro
  • Emma Stone, Poor Things
  • Fantasia Barrino, The Color Purple
  • Margot Robbie, Barbie
  • Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall
  • Vivian Oparah, Rye Lane
Supporting Actor
  • Dominic Sessa, The Holdovers
  • Jacob Elordi, Saltburn
  • Paul Mescal, All of Us Strangers
  • Robert De Niro, Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Robert Downey Jr., Oppenheimer
  • Ryan Gosling, Barbie
Supporting Actress
  • Claire Foy, All of Us Strangers
  • Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple
  • Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers
  • Emily Blunt, Oppenheimer
  • Rosamund Pike, Saltburn
  • Sandra Hüller, The Zone of Interest
Original Score
  • Robbie Robertson, Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Ludwig Göransson, Oppenheimer
  • Jerskin Fendrix, Poor Things
  • Anthony Willis, Saltburn
  • Daniel Pemberton, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
Costume Design
  • Jacqueline Durran, Barbie
  • Jacqueline West, Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Dave Crossman and Janty Yates, Napoleon
  • Ellen Mirojnick, Oppenheimer
  • Holly Waddington, Poor Things
Production Design
  • Sarah Greenwood and Katie Spencer, Barbie
  • Jack Fisk and Adam Willis, Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Ruth De Jong and Claire Kaufman, Oppenheimer
  • Shona Heath, James Price and Zsuzsa Mihalek, Poor Things
  • Chris Oddy, Joanna Maria Kuś and Katarzyna Sikora, The Zone of Interest
Special Visual Effects
  • Jonathan Bullock, Charmaine Chan, Ian Comley and Jay Cooper, The Creator
  • Theo Bialek, Stephane Ceretti, Alexis Wajsbrot and Guy Williams, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3
  • Neil Corbould, Simone Coco, Jeff Sutherland and Alex Wuttke, Mission: Impossible - Dead Reckoning Part One
  • Henry Badgett, Neil Corbould, Charley Henley and Luc-Ewen Martin-Fenouillet, Napoleon
  • Tim Barter, Simon Hughes, Dean Koonjul and Jane Paton, Poor Things
Make Up and Hair
  • Kay Georgiou and Thomas Nellen, Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Sian Grigg, Kay Georgiou, Kazu Hiro and Lori McCoy-Bell, Maestro
  • Jana Carboni, Francesco Pegoretti, Satinder Chumber and Julia Vernon, Napoleon
  • Luisa Abel, Jaime Leigh McIntosh, Jason Hamer and Ahou Mofid, Oppenheimer
  • Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier and Josh Weston, Poor Things
  • Laurent Sénéchal, Anatomy of a Fall
  • Thelma Schoonmaker, Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Jennifer Lame, Oppenheimer
  • Yorgos Mavropsaridis, Poor Things
  • Paul Watts, The Zone of Interest
  • Rodrigo Prieto, Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Matthew Libatique, Maestro
  • Hoyte van Hoytema, Oppenheimer
  • Robbie Ryan, Poor Things
  • Łukasz Żal, The Zone of Interest
  • Kahleen Crawford, All of Us Strangers
  • Cynthia Arra, Anatomy of a Fall
  • Susan Shopmaker, The Holdovers
  • Isabella Odoffin, How to Have Sex
  • Ellen Lewis and Rene Haynes, Killers of The Flower Moon
  • Angelo Bonanni, Tony Lamberti, Andy Nelson, Lee Orloff and Bernard Weiser, Ferrari
  • Richard King, Steve Morrow, Tom Ozanich, Jason Ruder and Dean Zupancic, Maestro
  • Chris Burdon, James H. Mather, Chris Munro and Mark Taylor, Mission: Impossible - Dead Reckoning Part One
  • Willie Burton, Richard King, Kevin O’Connell and Gary A. Rizzo, Oppenheimer
  • Johnnie Burn and Tarn Willers, The Zone of Interest
British Short Animation
  • Crab Day
  • Visible Mending
  • Wild Summon
British Short Film
  • Festival of Slaps
  • Gorka
  • Jellyfish and Lobster
  • Such A Lovely Day
  • Yellow
EE Rising Star
  • Phoebe Dynevor
  • Ayo Edebiri
  • Jacob Elordi
  • Mia Mckenna-Bruce
  • Sophie Wilde