Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

Katy Perry releases Pokémon-themed music video ‘Electric’

By Christian Imperio Published May 14, 2021 4:30 pm

Singer-songwriter Katy Perry has finally released her music video for Electric, a brand new track from The Pokémon Company's new musical album slated to be released later this year.

Created by Raya and the Last Dragon director Carlos Lopez Estrada, the Pokémon-themed music video follows Perry and Pikachu as they “take time out to enjoy nature and reflect on how they have evolved over the years.” In the video, the pair is seen exploring the wilderness then making a stop at a lighthouse, where they reminisce the earliest days of Perry’s career. 

“I know you feel it, feel it/ If you believe, then you can/ There’s no reason this life can’t be electric,” Perry sings as a younger version of herself is seen performing at a farmer’s market with her friend Pichu. 

Watch the music video below:

“When I visited the Pokémon Café while touring Japan, I got so nostalgic. It took me back to my junior high years. So when I got the call to be a part of the 25th anniversary celebration alongside Post Malone and J Balvin, I was elated,” Perry said in a statement. “The song’s themes—resilience, igniting your inner light—have guided my life and also parallel Pokémon’s story and characters. Pikachu is the evolved form of Pichu, so in the video, you see the younger version of me with Pichu and myself in the present day with Pikachu. We both evolve, yet retain a sense of playfulness.” 

Perry previously shared that Pokémon has been a big part of her life. The pop superstar explained that she's played the original video games on her Game Boy, traded Pokémon TCG cards at lunch, and also tried catching Pokémon on the street with Pokémon GO.

Perry’s music video is part of P25 Music, The Pokémon Company’s massive, yearlong music compilation in celebration of the 25th anniversary of the highly-successful franchise. The album will consist of 14 songs by 11 different artists including J Balvin and Post Malone.