Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

WATCH: First trailer for ‘Fear Street’ horror trilogy based on R.L. Stine books

By Kara Santos Published Jun 10, 2021 2:52 pm

Netflix has unveiled the first official trailer for Fear Street, a trilogy of films based on the R.L. Stine series of novels, which will be released on the streaming giants weeks apart this coming July.

The film trilogy takes place in three different years: 1994, 1978 and 1666—and kicks off with a group of teens in 1994 discovering that the terrifying events that have haunted their town for generations may be connected. The trilogy features an ensemble cast including Stranger Things alums Maya Hawke and Sadie Sink.

The trailer was unveiled during Netflix's ongoing Geeked Week Wednesday (June 9).

The Fear Street horror fiction series originally debuted in 1989 and served as a more teenage counterpart to the hugely influential Goosebumps series targeted for younger readers, which made Stine a household name.

“As a filmmaker making Fear Street, but also just as a movie lover, I was so excited to pay homage to some of the great eras of horror movies,” director Leigh Janiak said in a statement. 

“For 1994, Scream stood above all rest—it’s peak ’90s horror and, I think, one of the most brilliant movies ever made, period,” Janiak continued. “Then for 1978, I got to look at the heyday of slasher films—Friday the 13th, Halloween, Nightmare on Elm Street. For 1666… I found the best inspiration for me lay in the beautiful world made rotten of Terrence Malick’s The New World.”

“The thing that ties Fear Street to people all over the world is that we all have the same fears,” Stine said in a statement. “It doesn’t matter what country you’re in, everyone is afraid of the dark, or afraid somebody’s lurking in the closet, or afraid of being in some strange new place they’ve never been before. We all have the same fears.”

In addition to the nearly three-minute long trailer, the streamer also unveiled new loglines for each of the films.

Fear Street Part 1: 1994, which debuts July 2:  “A circle of teenage friends accidentally encounter the ancient evil responsible for a series of brutal murders that have plagued their town for over 300 years. Welcome to Shadyside.”

Fear Street Part 2: 1978, which debuts July 9: “Shadyside, 1978. School’s out for summer and the activities at Camp Nightwing are about to begin. But when another Shadysider is possessed with the urge to kill, the fun in the sun becomes a gruesome fight for survival.”

Fear Street Part 3: 1666, which debuts July 16: “The origins of Sarah Fier’s curse are finally revealed as history comes full circle on a night that changes the lives of Shadysiders forever.”

Watch the official trailer for Fear Street below. 

(Images via Netflix)