Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

WATCH: Taylor Swift drops music video for 'Fortnight' featuring Post Malone

By Dyanne Esther Briones Published Apr 20, 2024 1:53 pm

Taylor Swift has released the official music video for Fortnight, her song collaboration with Post Malone in her new album The Tortured Poets Department.

The musicians portray lovers in the black-and-white video shared on Saturday, April 20. It starts with Swift wearing a wedding dress at a mental asylum. She enters another room filled with typewriters as her dress changes. It later shows the pair in bizarre situations, including them facing each other with pieces of paper around them as well as carrying out a series of tests in a laboratory. They are also seen sharing sweet nothings in between.

Ethan Hawke and Josh Charles are also in the music video as doctors who performed shock therapy on Swift. They starred in the 1989 film, Dead Poets Society.

Watch the MV here:

In an Instagram post, Swift said she "wanted to show you the worlds I saw in my head that served as the backdrop for making this music."

"Pretty much everything in it is a metaphor or a reference to one corner of the album or another," she said, adding that the video "turned out to be the perfect visual representation of this record and the stories I tell in it."

Swift also praised Malone, who blew her away on set as "our tortured tragic hero." She added, "I’m so grateful to him for everything he put into this collaboration."

Fortnight is Swift’s first single from The Tortured Poets Department, her 11th album following Midnights (2022), Evermore (2020), Folklore (2020), and Lover (2019), as well as her four re-recorded albums 1989 (Taylor's Version), Speak Now (Taylor's Version), Red (Taylor's Version), and Fearless (Taylor's Version).

Two hours after its release on Friday, April 19, the Grammy award-winning singer announced that it's a double album as she surprised her fans with 15 new songs, making the album a total of 31 tracks.