Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

Repertory Philippines announces cast of ‘I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change’

By Saihjee Galang Published Apr 23, 2024 4:15 pm

Gian Magdangal, Gabby Padilla, Kristal Kane, and Marvin Ong will all be making their theater comeback in a new musical play called ‘I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change.

Repertory Philippines (REP) is set to present a musical comedy play that touches on the different phases of modern love.

Staged in a bustling city where swiping left or right on dating apps is typical, the theatrical play will also deal with topics such as ghosting, situationships, and rekindled love.

The play will be directed by Menchu Lauchengco-Yulo, with Cara Barredo as the assistant director and Ejay Yatco as the musical director. Set and costume designer Joey Mendoza is also part of the team, together with associate costume designer Hershee Tantiado, associate set designer Lawyn Cruz, projector graphics and video designer GA Fallarme, lighting designer Meliton Roxas, choreographer Stephen Viñas, and sounds designer Aji Manalo.

The cast sees the return of Ong, a songwriter and a PHILSTAGE Gawad Buhay Awardee for Best Featured Actor, Padilla, known her roles in Gitling (2023), and Billie and Emma (2018); Magdangal, who was part of REP’s Carousel in 2022, and Kane, who played roles in The Sound of Music as Brigitta, In the Heights as Nina, Spring Awakening as Wendla, and Tabing Ilog: The Musical as Jerry. 

The musical comedy play will be premiering from June 14 to July 6 at the Carlos P. Romulo Auditorium in RCBC Plaza in Makati. You can stay tuned on their Facebook, Instagram, and website for upcoming details on tickets.

I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change is the second longest-running Broadway musical theater. It is a musical comedy with book and lyrics by award-winning Joe DiPietro and music from Jimmy Roberts, premiered in 1996.  

In 1997, the play was nominated for the Outer Critics Circle Award as Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical.